Rate this item
(0 votes)

November 27, 1994 - Essential mix from CJ Mackintosh & Harvey, recorded at the Ministry of Sound in London


A BBC Essential mix from CJ Mackintosh and DJ Harvey (image) , recorded at the Ministry of Sound in London on November 27, 1994. In the first hour CJ Macintosh is behind the wheels of steel followed by DJ Harvey in the second hour.

In 1991 Harvey was a full-time DJ and he had his own weekly night “Moist” at the Gardening Club in London It was here he brought over some of the greatest New York/U.S DJs including Larry Levan. Harvey became known for his fabled six-hour mix of disco, house, garage and dancefloor friendly rock records, a sound he has carried through to later residencies, notably the celebrated New Hard Left at the Blue Note.

After Moist ended, Harvey played at London's Ministry Of Sound. This resulted in the 1998 release of his DJ mix album for MOS label's “Late Night Sessions” He played for this era's superclubs including Cream in Liverpool and Back to Basic's in Leeds, also regularly in Ibiza. He is one half of the duo behind the classic and elusive Black Cock record label, on which he has recreated famous and lost edits of disco records by house music pioneers such as Larry Levan and Ron Hardy





  Romanthony - "Ministry Of Love" (Azuli)
  Todd Terry - "Jumpin'" (TNT)
  See The Light - "See The Light" (Choice)
  Coalition - "No More Weeping" (Big Trax)
  Rinabthony - "In The Mix" (Azuli)
  Caroline Harding - "Running" (King Street)
  Donna Allen - "Real" (Epic)
  Eddie S - "The Spell" (Freeze)
  Donna Summer - "I Feel Love" (Casablanca)
  Donna Summer - "The Boss" (Mercury)
  Maydie Myles - "Keep On Loving" (promo)
  DJ Food - "Peace 1-2" (Ninja Tune)
  Beloved - "1000 Years" (Sami)
  Barry White - "Love Is The Icon" (A&M)
  Arnold Jarvis & Kerri Chandler - "Inspiratio" (Freetown)
  Swing 52 - "Colour Of My Skin" (ffrr)
  Sounds Of Blackness - "The Harder They Come" (A&M)
  Judy Cheeks - "Respect" (Positiva)
  Benji Candel Ario - "Love Is What We Need" (Freeze)
  24 Hour Experience - "More Dub Essentials" (white label)
  Rhythm Construction Co. - "Don't Blame Me" (Nice & Ripe)
  Gwen McCrae - "Keep The Fire Burning" (Club Vision)
  Pamela Fernandez - "Kickin' In The Beat" (Ore)
  Cover Ups - "untitled" (white label)
  Love Happy - "Message Of Love" (MCA)
  Tribal Infusion - "Sumba Lumba" (Strictly Rhythm)
  BMU - "You Will Know" (Mercury)
  Satoshi Tomillie - "Ole Ole" (Pony canyon)
  Mary J Blige - "Happy" (MCA)
  Janet Jackson - "That's The Way Love Goes" (Virgin)
  Donna Allen - "Real" (Epic)
  Horace Brown - "Taste Your Love" (MCA)
  India - "River Ocean" (Strictly Rhythm)
  Love Happy - "Message Of Love" (MCA)


Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.