Rate this item
(1 Vote)

August 22, 1992 - Dave Angel at the Orbit and Ark party at the Leeds Corn Exchange



Liveset from DJ and producer Dave Angel, recorded on Saturday August 22, 1992 at a party at the Leeds Corn Exchange organised by the Orbit and Ark. According to some sources this set was recorded in 1992 at the Orbit, Morley, Leeds.

A part of the very fabric of the UK techno scene, Dave Angel’s status as an erudite for electronic culture is not based upon hyperbole or smothered in exhausting superlatives but cemented in facts and encased in the endless memories of those who have lived, loved and danced to the astonishing output of music he has created over the years.

Born the son of a Jazz musician and elder brother to British hip-hop artist Monie Love, Dave’s path in music came to the fore during the explosion of the acid house scene in London back in the late 80’s. Hosting one of the zeitgeist shows of its time, Dave’s weekly broadcast on pirate radio station Phaze One saw him champion a new sound that was gradually captivating the youth of the country and which would later catapult him into the media spot light with notable publications like Mixmag, DJ Magazine and The Guardian all proclaiming Dave as a one of the major forces in the UK techno/acid house scene.

DJing formed a natural progression into the recording process and in 1989 after tinkering at home with a basic set-up of a keyboard and two tape decks Dave’s first attempts at production created a somewhat controversial remix of Eurhythmics ‘Sweet Dreams’, which Dave called his ‘Nightmare Mix’.





1. [00:00] The True Underground Sound Of Rome - Experience [UMM]
2. [04:10] Jambo! - Drumattack [Wonka Beats]
3. [08:20] ?
4. [10:50] D.G. Sound Project - Xabrax (Drill Mix) [Oversky Records] "yeah check this next track out"
5. [13:20] Ramirez - El Ritmo Barbaro (El Flagelo Mix) [DFC]
6. [16:00] ? "get ready, are you ready" repeated male
7. [18:50] F.U.S.E. - F.U.2 [Plus 8]
8. [22:30] Mantrax - Scarlet Circus (Side B) [R&S]
9. [25:00] Supertronic Co. - Invasion [Round And Round] "space" male
10. [27:20] Maximum Peak - Overload [ESP]
11. [30:40] Quazar - Last Train To Paradise (303 mix?)
12. [33:10] ? "wooh" cj bolland style beat
13. [34:50] ? synth/percussive
14. [35:40] Roel Butzen - First Force [Atom Communications]
15. [38:00] Leo Anibaldi - Unknown (wobbly acid)
16. [42:00] Outlander - Room To Move (TZ1 EP)
17. [44:40] Insider - Destiny [Music Man]

18. [45:50] Edge Of Motion - Overholt [Djax-Up-Beats]
19. [48:20] V-Room - G-Hertz [Plus 8]
20. [52:20] Influid - Swamp [Influence Recordings]
21. [55:00] Phenomania - Phenothemania [No Respect Records]
22. [58:30] Edge Of Motion - Set Up 707 [Djax-Up-Beats]
23. [61:00] Mescalinum United - We Have Arrived [R&S]
24. [64:00] Friends Of Django - Fuckin Revenge [Pretty Asshole]
25. [66:00] Friends Of Alex - What Is..? Fick Dich [No Mercy]
26. [69:00] Meng Syndicate - Sonar System (Remix?)
27. [71:00] Dave Angel - Sighting (Stairway To Heaven ep) [R&S]
28. [73:40] Precious X Project - Dukkha [Hard + Fast]
29. [75:40] Formicula 4 - Formic - Trance (The Trancemistress Mix) [Hype]
30. [79:00] Space Cube - Kool Killer [Force Inc]
31. [82:00] N-25 - Corruption (Unauthorized ep) [No Respect]
32. [84:30] Test - Overdub (New Concept) [USA Import Music]
33. [88:00] Space Cube - The Phaser [Force Inc]
34. [91:00] Love Inc - The Comeback [Force Inc]

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.